Workout Recap: Week 10

Compared to last week’s run in a thunderstorm and unexpectedly hitting my 15k run milestone, this week was pretty tame. I did an upper body gym session on Monday, leg day on Thursday, and a nice quick 5k on a snowy trail on Saturday morning. I also tried my hand at making apple chips, which were a success, and made some more cocoa date balls to try and offset my craving for baked goods that inevitably comes with this season.

img_4005
The finished apple chips. They were gobbled up very quickly!

Monday: Chest/Triceps/Shoulders

I was back at the big-league bench press this week and was able to add a little bit more weight to the bar. I still have a fair ways to go to reach my goal of benching 100 lbs (I’m currently able to bench 3×7 @ 60 lbs) but I still have 5 months to go before my goal deadline and I think I should be able to make it!

Workout:
5 minute warm-up on the treadmill
Bench press
Incline flyes
Lying dumbbell triceps extensions
One arm rows + kickbacks
Cable rope triceps pulldowns
Seated dumbbell shoulder press
Front raises
5 minute cool-down on the treadmill

Thursday: Leg Day

I was able to get a rack this time around instead of using the Smith machine. It was definitely harder! I don’t think I fully appreciated being able to push back against the Smith machine with my heels the last time around until I couldn’t take advantage of it this week. I was able to do a full four sets of 12 reps at 65 lbs this week, so I don’t think I’ve been challenging myself enough with these. I’m going to be stepping up the weight a fair bit next time to make sure I reach my goal of 150 lbs on time. Iย also tried out Bosu ball lunges thinking that it would be a nice way to challenge those support muscles while I lunge. Well it was a challenge alright! I almost fell over multiple times but managed to mostly save face. They were much more challenging than I was expecting and I’m looking forward to getting better at them!

Workout:
5 minute warm-up on the treadmill
Squats
Seated calf raises
Hip adductors
Hip abductors
Deadlifts
Bosu ball lunges
Kettle bell swings

Saturday: Morning Run in the Snow
5km โ€“ 28:12 (5:37/km)

It’s finally snowed here in Southern Ontario!! This may be bad news for some, but I’m one of those people who can’t wait for it to snow once October/November rolls around. I am a little concerned that with the snow will come some slippery conditions for running, but this also means that I have an excuse to go into the running store to get moreย winter gear!

There was only a little bit of snow on the ground Saturday morning so it wasn’t too slippery. I could feel the snow slip a little bit under my toe when I pushed off, but it was no worse than running on mostly wet sand. I did half of my run on a nearby trail so that I could soak in the winter wonderland view.

img_4022

On Sunday it snowed most of the day so we have even more snow on the ground now and I’m really hoping that it will stick around for Christmas! All this snow also means that it’s almost snowboarding and skating season! The pond down the street hasn’t totally frozen over yet, but I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it won’t be long now. It’s always so much fun to throw on a pair of skates and go whisking about for an hour or so.

What are your favourite wintertime activities?

What’s your secret to staying warm while enjoying the snow?

 

 

Leave a Reply

