Recipe: Breakfast Egg Muffins

I am constantly on the hunt for things to eat for breakfast that are healthy, tasty, and have a bunch of protein in them to keep me feeling full and awake until I can eat my next snack/meal. Some of my favourites are cottage cheese with fruit/nuts, oatmeal, toast with avocado and tomato, and of course eggs in any form. A few months ago I started a new job which completely threw my leisurely morning routine out the window and I don’t have much time in the morning to make things that take a while (like eggs), so when I found Averie Cooks’ recipe for these cute little egg/omelet muffins that you could heat up in the microwave I knew I had to try them.

img_3913

I did a bit of an experiment with mine and did half of them in paper muffin cups and half with coconut oil straight on the tin because Averie said they had a habit of sticking to the pan pretty solidly. The ones in the paper cups came right out of the tin no problem, but getting the muffins out of the paper cups proved to be a little more difficult. It was nearly impossible when they were cold, but it wasn’t too bad taking them out after I’d microwaved them. I did lose some muffin to the sides of the paper cup, but not too much.

The ones that I cooked with just coconut oil on the pan came out alright, though I wouldn’t say flawlessly. There was definitely a fair bit of muffin stuck to the pan, though this also could have been because I got excited and didn’t wait very long to pull them out of the pan. I will said however that cleaning the pan afterward was a pain. I think next time I’ll try putting more oil on, though I did think I’d put plenty on this time.

They also survived the microwave without any issues. I had been worried that they might turn rubbery after being microwaved but they were perfect! Just like mini frittatas.

You can put whatever you want in them, I did about a fist-sized head of broccoli, a large carrot, and a little bit of onion, all of which I sautΓ©ed until they were soft before putting them in the muffin tin to make sure they cooked all the way through. I will confess that I forgot to put salt and pepper in the egg mixture before cooking it, but it was easy enough to add it on top before I ate them.

I’ll probably make them again, I’d definitely want to add some cheese to the tops which Averie calls for in her recipe but I decided to leave out. The only thing that was a bit of a drag was that it took eight eggs, which seemed like quite a lot to me, so I probably won’t be making them every week, but they’re really great if you just want to grab something quick andΒ healthy in the mornings!

 

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Breakfast Egg Muffins

Leave a Reply

