Weekly Update #4: A ‘Lazy’ Week

This week was a bit of a wash fitness-wise, thanks to a mad dash to get my Halloween costume ready for Saturday night, so this is going to be a pretty short update. Because I didn’t go to the gym much this week (only one day out of my goal of three!) I wasn’t able to see if I’d shaken off my funk from last week. I did get to thinking, however, that my funk might be partially due to a lack of solid goals so I’m going to spend some time this upcoming week planning some goals that I can work towards and see if that helps.

Monday: Back, Biceps, and Shoulders

My head felt mostly in the game on Monday and I was able to have a pretty good focus on what I was doing. I had to wait for some of the machines that I wanted to use which left me having to think of another exercise to do on the spot while I waited. Overall a pretty good workout. I did manage to move up to 3×8 @ 40 lbs for my military press!

Workout:
5 minute warm-up on the treadmill
Assisted pull ups
Seated cable row
Wide-grip lat pulldown
Back hyperextensions
Straight-leg deadlifts
Dumbbell biceps curls
Standing military press
Front raises

Tuesday: Healthy feast!

Because of Halloween costume time crunch, I wasn’t able to make a healthy recipe this week. But I did get to be fed a delicious, healthy feast by my friend on  Tuesday! She made potatoes with garlic, olive oil, and fresh parsley thrown in at the end; a spring salad with carrots, radishes, spinach, and sunflower seeds; and this amazing frittata with broccoli, greens, and feta cheese. Oh my goodness was it tasty. I’m going to have to try and make that frittata again for myself because it was so darn good.

img_0614

She used an interesting cooking technique for it too, sort of scrambling the eggs in her skillet first, and then sticking the whole thing in the oven to finish. I’ve only ever cooked frittatas in the oven, but her’s was so fluffy that I need to test it out for myself. Stay tuned!

Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday: Halloween costume marathon

Although this week was lazy in terms of me not going to the gym as much I want to, it was crazy busy trying to pull this Halloween costume together on time. My friend and I decided to go as Disney villains this year. She was Ursula from The Little Mermaid and I was Hades from Hercules (she’s on the left and my other friend on the right was Mia Wallace from Pulp Fiction).

img_3893

Usually I try to pick something that I can make mostly out of stuff that I already have, but I didn’t have anything that I could use for this one. I spent Wednesday, Thursday, and my Friday lunch break running around collecting the things I needed for my costume, and then Friday night and pretty much all of Saturday putting everything together.

It turned out awesome. I don’t know if I’ve ever been so pleased with how a costume turned out. Ideally I would have started getting ready a couple weeks before instead of just days before, but it was a good experience. If only to teach me that no, I can’t put together a last minute Halloween costume and do everything else that I usually do in a week. Especially if it involves dyeing a wig, which was a very weird experience, and almost ended up with me staining parts of the house blue (those were a panicky few minutes).

I’m very much looking forward to getting back to the gym next week and setting some goals to work towards. I’m also excited because I finally got around to ordering some new running shoes so that I can run again without hurting my knee and I think they’ll come in this week! (I really hope so, the weather has been perfect for running, and I have been hating the fact that I can’t go.)

How do you guys manage busy weeks while still working out?

One thought on “Weekly Update #4: A ‘Lazy’ Week

Leave a Reply

