Weekly Update #2

I’m pleased to say that I managed to hit my target of three workouts this week! I think it helped that I picked three days that I was going to go to the gym ahead of time, though I did have to shift my Saturday workout to today because I went on a hike yesterday that ended up taking way longer than I thought it would. Knowing that I would be writing about my workouts also really helped me get my butt out the door. Turns out this public accountability thing really does work!

Tuesday: Triceps and Shoulders

I’ve been doing a couple of shoulder exercises at the end of each of my workouts so far because they’re one of my bigger weak spots (well, my whole upper body in general is a weak spot aha). I also think women look super badass when they have good, strong-looking shoulders so there are definitely some aesthetic reasons for me working out my shoulders haha (who doesn’t want to look like a badass?).

5 minute warm-up on the treadmill
Standing dumbbell triceps extension: 3×12 @ 20lbs
EZ-Bar skull crushers: 3×12 @20lbs
Lying dumbbell triceps extension: 3×8 @15lbs
Cable triceps pushdown: 3×12 @15lbs
Cable rope overhead triceps extension: 2×12, 2×10 @10lbs
Seated barbell military press: 3×12 @ 30lbs
Side lateral raises: 3×10 @15lbs + drop set of 1×5 @ 10lbs
6 minute cool-down on the treadmill

Thursday: Back, Biceps, and Shoulders

This workout kind of sucked. My phone died right before I was about to start so I didn’t have any music and I found it really difficult to get myself pumped up and to concentrate on what I was doing. I never really realized how loud the gym is before! I think I managed to do alright despite that.

10 minute warm-up on the treadmill with a 2 minute sprint at the end
Single arm rows: 3×13 @ 17.5lbs
Wide-grip lat pulldowns: 3×12 @ 22.5lbs
Seated cable row: 4×12 @ 17.5lbs
Back hyperextensions: 3×12 @ 10lbs
Dumbbell shrugs: 3×12 @ 25lbs
Hammer curls: 2×12,1×10 @ 10lbs
Side lateral raises: 3×12 @ 7.5lbs
Barbell bicep curl: 3×12 @ 20lbs
Front raises: 4×12 @ 7.5lbs

Saturday: Hike at the Scarborough Bluffs

dsc_0438_sm

This wasn’t actually supposed to be a tough hike, it was supposed to be more of a leisurely stroll with my friend to spend time together and take some pictures. Neither of us realized how steep the incline was to get to the top of the bluffs (we didn’t climb the actual bluffs, the road up was fairly steep and then we took a shortcut path up to the top that was even steeper) and it ended up being quite the workout for our calves and quads with a fair bit of cardio thrown in. The views were so worth it though!

Sunday: Body Pump class at GoodLife

This class was pretty good! The instructor was great, upbeat without being overly perky and his music choices were spot on. Body Pump is a strength training class so we got to use some Olympic weightlifting techniques. I learned a couple new ones which was awesome. I also learned that I haven’t been using proper technique when doing bench press and have been accidentally working out my shoulders and triceps instead of my chest. Oops. Fixing that gave me the best chest muscle burn I’ve ever had so I’m really looking forward to fixing that technique on my own!

The class was a full body workout and gave me a pretty good burn for the majority of the muscle groups we worked. I wish we’d had a little bit more time to push that burn further. I’m so used to pushing muscle groups hard when I work them, and I didn’t feel like I got as much out of each group as I could have. Some of that may have been because I erred on the conservative side of plate weights because I didn’t know what to expect. I think next time I’ll grab some heavier plates to push myself a little further.

That sums up this week’s activities, I think next week I’m going to try out a Zumba class on Saturday. I’ve done a couple before and really enjoyed it, and I’m curious to see what GoodLife’s class is like.

What are your favourite shoulder exercises?

If you’re a GoodLife member, what class do you love going to?

Leave a Reply

