Initial thoughts

Well, today was the second day of my new, rather (read: very) intense training program, and I am already not keen on the food. The diet portion of this training program is very strict and involves eating only fish, steak, chicken, rice, broccoli, sweet potato, egg whites, and oats six or seven times per day.

The main thing that is causing me grief with this diet is the amount of time it takes to prep six meals a day, for seven days a week and following closely behind that is how bland the food is. I didn’t think it would be a huge problem because I usually don’t put a whole lot of seasoning in my food, but just these two days have been kind of brutal. I’m definitely going to have to up my spice and seasoning game if I want to keep eating these foods for the next three months.

The third thing that is making the diet difficult, which I was not expecting at all, is that there is too much food. I previously thought that I ate a fair amount of food throughout the day (I love food, especially anything sweet) but I have been proved wrong. By the time I was supposed to eat my third meal today I was so full that I felt mildly sick at the thought of eating more. I’m going to try reducing the amount that I eat each meal and also cut out one meal each day and see if I can actually eat them all haha.

The workout side of things is going great, however! My muscles ache like crazy (quads and hamstrings were day one, today was chest and triceps) and I feel like a little old lady but it’s a very good kind of sore. I’m excited to be back in the gym, though it is slightly intimidating to be one of the few (if not the only) girl in the free weight section. I can’t wait to see the progress I can make in the gym and see how much I’ll be able to lift at the end of the training program.

Happy Training!

2 thoughts on “Initial thoughts

Leave a Reply

