Here’s the deal

Last month, right before my birthday, I decided that I wanted to run a marathon. Not right then and there, of course (someone would have had to come and peel my body off the pavement before the one quarter mark), but in the relatively  near future. I had been active for most of my life playing various sports like water polo, rugby, cross country, and some Try-a-Tri triathlons, but my level of fitness had dropped severely in my last year of university and I wanted to be fit again and have a six-pack (don’t we all). My solution to this desire to run a marathon was deciding to work up to this goal gradually over the next couple of years so that I wouldn’t quit two weeks in and just give up on it forever.

Since then, I’ve been fairly good at running on a semi-regular basis (much more often now than at the beginning of March when it was cold and gross and my excuse was that I would slip and injure myself if I went running) and I’ve been doing a decent job of eating well but it hasn’t quite felt like enough. Which is why, two days ago when two of my friends told me that they were doing a really intense 12-week training program, I impulsively (but quite seriously) said that I would do it with them.

This program probably isn’t the toughest thing the world has ever seen, but it is the toughest thing that I’ve ever seen. Mostly in part because I’m going to be subsisting off chicken, steak, fish, yams, broccoli, and rice with no sugar or dairy for three whole months. As someone who considers herself a bit of an amateur foodie and enjoys eating a large variety of food, the probability that I will grow to hate these foods is unfortunately quite high. However, I am also extremely stubborn and I have faith in my ability to doggedly go through with this challenge to the very end. Also because I am highly competitive and I hate the thought of not being able to do it while my friends achieve six-packs at the end of the 12 weeks.

The program focuses on weight training as opposed to running so I’m taking a bit of a detour on my goal to a marathon, but not a severe one as overall fitness and lean muscle won’t hurt my running ability. The program calls for 2×20 minutes of cardio per day, and apparently going for a walk counts, but I will probably try and make those 20 minutes of cardio runs so that I’m still working towards that marathon. Except maybe on leg day. I’m not sure I’ll be able to sit on a toilet after the leg days this program calls for let alone run.

I’ll be starting the program on Monday April 25 and will be documenting my progress here as I go. I anticipate being very sore for all of those 12 weeks, but hopefully a good kind of sore. If someone knows good masseuse, please let me know as I will likely be needing a massage on the daily.

Happy Training!

P.S. If this program sounds like something you’d be interested in doing (it’s free besides needing a gym membership) you can find it here.

Leave a Reply

